Home + Articles + Pharmacy Articles + Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain

Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain

The Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain (RPSGB) is the regulatory and professional body for pharmacists in England, Scotland and Wales. It has its headquarters in Lambeth in London.

The primary objective of the RPSGB is to lead, regulate and develop the pharmacy profession. All pharmacists in Great Britain (approximately 44,000) must be registered with the Society.

The Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain was founded by a group of leading London chemists and druggists on April 15, 1841, at the Crown and Anchor Tavern in the Strand in London. In 1843, Queen Victoria granted the Society its royal charter. In 1988, Queen Elizabeth II agreed that the title "Royal" should be granted to the society.

Royal Pharmaceutical Society Museum

The Royal Pharmaceutical Society has had a museum collection since 1842. The exhibits cover all aspects of British pharmacy history, and include:

  • Traditional dispensing equipment.
  • Drug storage containers.
  • Fine "Lambeth delftware" dating from the 1600s and 1700s.
  • Proprietary (brand name) medicines dating from the 1700s to the present day.
  • Bronze mortars.
  • Medical caricatures.
  • A photo archive.

Since 2002 the Society has concentrated on developing the collection of historical and contemporary proprietary medicines. The museum is may be visited by appointment.