Health care tips   List of nobel prize winners  1960 nobel prize winner

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1960

For discovery of acquired immunological tolerance
Name - Sir Frank Macfarlane Burnet
Date of birth - 3 September 1899
Institutions - Walter and Eliza Hall Institute for Medical Research Melbourne, Australia
Country - Australia

Description - Sir Frank Macfarlane Burnet, OM, AK, KBE, usually known as Macfarlane or Mac Burnet, was an Australian virologist best known for his contributions to immunology. Burnet received his M.D. degree from the University of Melbourne in 1924, and his Ph.D.

Name - Peter Brian Medawar
Date of birth - 28 February 1915
Institutions - University College London, United Kingdom
Country - United Kingdom

Description - Sir Peter Brian Medawar OM CBE FRS was a British zoologist. Medawar's work on graft rejection and the discovery of acquired immune tolerance was fundamental to the practice of tissue and organ transplants.